Anyone interested in Lowertown history should read the April 28, 2014 article on Urbsite about the former General Hospital--now called Bruyère Hospital--at the corner of Sussex and Bruyère.
It includes this fascinating fact: 'The addition on the second storey of a matching pair of sundials, in 1851, was designed by Father Jean-François Allard, a geometry teacher. These sundials marked the first public timepiece in Ottawa and are considered to be unique in North America.'
The CapitalModern.ca website publishes features about "modern architecture" in the national capital region, generally regarding works constructed during the years of 1945-1975.
The site has dedicated a page to before and after pictures of the Union du Canada demolition and the new construction site at Dalhousie and York streets in Lowertown. Last month Capital Modern added a research document prepared by the LCA's Heritage Committee back when it was trying to save the Union du Canada building. Click here to read the LCA's March 18, 2013 submission to Ottawa City Council and its Built Heritage Sub-committee.
Post and photo collage by Michelle Ramsay-Borg
The NCC just issued an RFP to hire consultants to prepare a “Capital Illumination Plan”. This will provide a strategy to illuminate the unique buildings, monuments, districts and streetscapes of the national capital. The intent is to create a cohesive nightscape and reduce energy. The NCC organized a workshop on 31 March to seek suggestions from the public on what should be illuminated. Most of the work teams identified the ByWard Market as an area that should be illuminated.
The NCC will select a few special pilot projects to complete before the 2017 celebrations. The money for the plan and the special projects will be paid for out of the NCC’s regular capital projects fund. The NCC has indicated that they are interested in working with partners to do pilot projects. There is here an opportunity to work with the NCC to select the Market for a pilot project.
This article originally appeared on The Ottawa Jewish Archives Facebook page.
Well, in 1956 congregations Adath Jeshurun and Agudath Achim amalgamated to form the Congregation Beth Shalom. The Adath Jeshurun synagogue at 375 King Edward Avenue was then converted to function as the Chevra Kadisha – the Jewish Community Memorial Chapel.